4th Gold Award Ceremony-2016

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award

The Gold Standard Certificate conferral ceremony under The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award was held on December 05, 2016 for the fourth time at the residence of British High Commissioner to Bangladesh. The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is an internationally recognized award which opens an opportunity to the youth of aged group 14-24 to discover their hidden abilities and to gain a special sense of satisfaction and achievement. This year Gold Award went to 164 students of ABC International School, Bangladesh International Tutorial, Chittagong Grammar School, Independent University, Bangladesh, Ispahani Public School and College, Comilla, Jahangirnagar University, Maple Leaf International School, Open Award Centre, The Aga Khan School, University of Dhaka, University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh- who successfully accomplished all the required activities of Gold Level after completing previous two levels, Bronze and Silver. Earlier on November 19, the Awardees had to face a validation committee where they were evaluated to get green card for the Gold Award.

HE Mark Clayton, the Acting British High Commissioner hosted the ceremony which was lively with the presence of members of the Board of Trustees of The DEA Foundation Bangladesh, Mr. Sayeeful Islam (Managing Director, Concord Garments Group), Mr. A K Shamsuddin Khan (Chairman, A K Khan Group), Nawab Khwaja Habibullah Askari (Representative, ZMV Rangoonwala Foundation-UK) and Ms. Rumana Ahmed (Head of Communications, GlaxoSmithKline Bangladesh). The National Director, Professor Dr. K M Shariful Huda and also the members of the Executive Committee- Mr. Rizwan Bin Farouq (Chairman), Mr. Kazal Kanti Debnath, Brig. Gen. (retd.) Jalaluddin Md. Akbar and Ms. Bitopy Das Chowdhury were present there. Besides the Gold Awardees, several Heads of the partner institutions and teachers attended the ceremony.

HE Mark Clayton handed over the certificates to the Gold Awardees and raised his satisfaction over it and wished the Awardees for their further betterment. Mr. Sayeeful Islam, Chairman, Board of Trustees; Mr. Rizwan Bin Farouq, Chairman, Executive Committee and Ms. Bitopy Das Chowdhury, Member, Executive Committee of The DEA Foundation Bangladesh conveyed their speech and wished great success of the Awardees. The National Director, Professor Dr. K M Shariful Huda unveiled future plans of The DEA Foundation Bangladesh chapter and encouraged the Awardees to be more responsive and engaged member of the community using their skill and talent for the greater good of the society. The ceremony ended with vote of thanks by Ms. Rumana Ahmed, Member of the Board of Trustees.