Levels of the Award

Levels and timescales explained

There are three levels of programmed you can do which, when you’ve successfully completed them, lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. The main differences between them are the minimum length of time it takes to complete them.
In Bangladesh participants are welcomed to start with the Bronze Level. Anyone from one of those registered institutions and aged between 14-25 can do the award.
You need to show regular activity and commitment during this time of averaging at least an hour a week. You can’t achieve an Award in a short burst of enthusiasm over one weekend!



    • You have to start off with the Bronze level of the Duke of Edinburghs Award
    • A Bronze programme has four sections
      • Social Service
      • Physical Recreation
      • Skills
      • Adventurous Journey
    • You must do a minimum of 3 months activity for each of the Social Service, Physical Recreation and Skills sections
    • You also have to spend an extra three months on one of the Social Service, Physical Recreation and Skills sections. It’s your choice which one and, though you can change your mind later, you should decide which section you want to do for longer at the beginning. Knowing how long you’re going to do it for will help you to choose your activity and set your goals for each section.
    • It will usually take you at least 6 months to complete your Bronze programmed
    • During this period you have to plan, train for and do a 2 day (1 night) Adventurous Journey. It is recommended that you do the AJ towards the end of the period. However if you want you can undertake the AJ any time during this time frame.


  • Once you have achieved the Bronze now you can opt for Silver level of the Award
  • Silver level also has four sections:
    • Social Service
    • Physical Recreation
    • Skills
    • Adventurous Journey
  • You need to do at least 6 months Volunteering and a minimum of 6 months on either Physical or Skills and 3 months on the other. It’s up to you which one you do for longer.
  • The duration of this level is six months
  • During this period you have to plan. Train for and do a 3 day (2 nights) expedition.


  • Once you have achieved Silver award now you can enroll for Gold level of the award.
  • Again Gold level has four sections:
    • Social Service
    • Physical Recreation
    • Skills
  • Adventurous Journey
  • You’ll spend 12 months on your Volunteering section. For Physical and Skills you must spend 12 months on one and six months on the other – you decide which way round you do it.
  • Your expedition will be for four days and three nights (plus an acclimatization day) and should take place in ‘wild country’.
  • The big difference at Gold is you’ll also do a Residential section – staying away from home for five days and four nights doing a shared activity with people you don’t know. It’s great fun and a real chance to do something different!
  • If you’ve jumped straight into your Gold DofE programmed you’ll need to do a further six months either volunteering or whichever one of your physical or skills activities you spent the most time on.
  • For Gold, you’ll need to do your programmed for at least 12 months if you’ve achieved your Silver Award, or 18 months if you’ve started at Gold level without doing your Silver – even if you’ve done Bronze.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *